Last Post

I
Have made
A very big decision.
(Lou Reed, Heroin)

Effective immediately, this blog and this persona will be discontinued. The experiment has run its course. From now on the interwebs will just have to struggle on without me.

I decided to do this quite abruptly and quite unexpectedly. I guess there are a number of reasons, but what tipped me over the edge was the sobering discovery that even with a public OpenId presence as pathetically tiny as mine, control over my own identity — or ‘branding’ as I explicitly like to think of it — had already spun irreversibly out of my grasp. So fuck that. I’m leaving and I’m taking my pencils with me.

Just to be clear, I will not be changing or removing anything from the site.  I bequeath my virtual corpse to the intertubes, where it will lay undisturbed until WordPress chooses to recycle its electrons. Or until the mountains crumble to the sea, whichever is sooner.

(I think  people continue to find the Nokia 1680c-2 post useful, so if anyone wants to copy that and host it elsewhere before it is untimely plucked away, then please, be my guest.)

‘What will you do with all your extra free time?’ I hear you ask. Well, I dunno, innit, but I daresay I’ll think of something.


Pilfered from here

Tags: , , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Last Post”

  1. Grandma Flea Says:

    Dear mrfricative
    I am very sorry that you are leaving the ether undisturbed by your presence – I have enjoyed your blog and your wicked sense of humour. I hope the whole identity theft thing hasn’t caused too many problems for you.
    Grandma Flea

    • misterfricative Says:

      Hey there Grandma Flea!

      Thanks as always for your appreciation — and for your concern.

      The identity thing is absolutely not a problem, and there’s no question of theft or wrongdoing on anyone’s part. It’s just that the Mr Angry/wry, sweary commentary persona was beginning to overspill its banks in ways that were the opposite of synergistic. (‘Antagonistic’ apparently, although that doesn’t sound quite right.)

      In short, the fictional construct known as ‘misterfricative’ was threatening to lose focus and become incoherent and confusing, so rather than struggle to contain and/or restrain him, I’m going to take the easy way out and deactivate him entirely.

      He will therefore spend the rest of eternity in the back of my sock-drawer with a bougainvillea thorn through his heart. From which repose he can always be re-awakened if it ever becomes desirable or necessary…

  2. keelungJane Says:

    I’ve never ever commented on your posts, but I suspect I’ve read most of them. I can’t say as how I’ve SHARED your point of view, but I’ve enjoyed seeing and reading it. Your slice of life is … well, quite full.

    I shall miss your particular take on things. I hope it gets out there in the world in whatever way you’re moved to put it out next.

    • misterfricative Says:

      Thanks! And yeah, it’s back to the real world for me! Which is not to say I won’t be doing stuff online, just not from here and not in this persona.

  3. Poagao Says:

    Well, you realize what this means, don’t you? We are going to have to actually have lunch.

    • misterfricative Says:

      Brilliant! Well there’s one concrete benefit already then!

      I’ll call you :-)

  4. Ahmnodt Heare Says:

    Thank you for not deleting your blog. This will be a reminder for future generations of what a blog is supposed to be like. Too many blogs these days are about gardening and Justin Bieber.

    • misterfricative Says:

      Thank you — you’re very kind! Long may this late blog sit here, slowly falling into desuetude under a drift of dust and ashes.

      As for gardening and young Mr Bieber, well, I’d better not catch him on my lawn, that’s all. And when he gets to North Korea, he’d probably be well advised to stay well the fuck away from their lawns too.

  5. Grandma Flea Says:

    Hello?? Anyone there?? We miss you Mr F.
    Season’s greetings to you and Mrs F. Should you ever visit Oz, please get in touch!
    Cheers

    • misterfricative Says:

      Alas, I’m afraid Senor Fricatif has left the building.

      Merry Christmas to you too though, and thank you for your kind thoughts :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

